Celebrating 5 years of Marriage in 5 days… for (less than) $5

255099_504464683175_7872_n

Friday, May 3rd, marks our 5 year wedding anniversary. Remembering our wedding is something that we enjoy, who doesn’t? But for me I find myself remembering not just our special day, but our special journey. Together for over eight years, it’s really only a moment in time, and we have had our ups and downs but we have always stuck together and we are confident about where we are going.

Apparently the 5 year anniversary is wood and flatware..hmmm. Not sure about either of those things so I decided to get creative and instead began to think about what to do to make B feel extra special. Of course always being mindful of our budget, this was hard because I wanted to do something all about him that he would TRULY enjoy. In the past I have successfully pulled off a romantic pinterest project or two, but let’s be real ladies, guys like that stuff but they don’t love it. And I wanted this to be about him, because I know how lucky I am. Just last week he held me for about two straight hours while I wept for my Dad, he told me his favorite stories of my Dad and dried my tears. This is the same man who has probably done more middle of the night diaper changes and feedings than I have and gets up every morning to make our daughter pancakes. He helps me clean but works twelve hour days; he has my coffee ready every morning without me having to ask and genuinely makes me feel like his most favorite and loved individual. I want (and need) to remind him more often that he really is my rock, but given the timing I decided to seize this opportunity and really make him FEEL my love for him. So here it is..

5 years of Marriage (and 3.5 years of dating) in 5 days 

Day 1: I recreated our first Valentine’s day dinner

Love note 1

Ready and waiting to surprise him after a long day’s work.

Spicy catfish, rice pilaf, veggies and chocolate covered strawberries. Then we played rummy <3

Spicy catfish, rice pilaf, veggies and chocolate covered strawberries; then we played rummy ❤

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Day 2: Highlighting that it takes “2” to make an Us. I did something minimal to remind him of all the best “pairs” in our life and let him enjoy two of his favorite things
Resampled_2013-04-30_20-00-29_865

Day 3: He proposed on a Wednesday so I took this opportunity to “recreate the proposal” I didn’t actually get down on one knee, though. B had to work late so I had a similar set up with another love note

He proposed with my favorite movie, my favorite cookies, and his mother's beautiful diamond ring. The rose petals in the pic are the same ones he proposed with and we had at our wedding.

He proposed with my favorite movie, my favorite cookies, and his mother’s beautiful diamond ring. The rose petals in the pic are the same ones he proposed with and we had at our wedding.

Day 4; MY FAVORITE We are big breakfast people and in college we ALWAYS went a little hometown diner called the Miss Lyndonville Diner. We actually had our own game we created and played on the tabletops with individual creamers while we waited for our food, typically always the same order, but never really got to finish because the service was so speedy.

His favorite Miss L breakfast was the Skillet #8 with corned beef hash, eggs over easy, and toast. I even had a copy of the real menu from Miss L printed :)

His favorite Miss L breakfast was the Skillet #8 with corned beef hash, eggs over easy, and toast. I even had a copy of the real menu from Miss L printed 🙂

Day 5: While we are celebrating with dinner and a night out with our dear friends, for my day 5 gift to Brent I am giving him the a special love note he wrote me that included a “timeline of us” with an extra special note of my own. I don’t even know if he will remember writing it, hehe.

"You know you are in love when you see the world in her eyes, and her eyes everywhere in the world." -internet copyright but what's inside is all from sparky ;)

“You know you are in love when you see the world in her eyes, and her eyes everywhere in the world.” -internet copyright but what’s inside is the Timeline of Us …all from sparky 😉

Without fully intending to, I was able to do all of this on less than $5.00 Everything was printed on regular paper and I built the food for dinner and breakfast right into our monthly menu plan. This served dual purpose, because not only was it budget friendly but he didn’t catch on! Of course, dinner will be our splurge but even that is going to be better than it would be because Raleigh has first night deals every first friday of the month. Regardless one of my favorite things about us is that we have never had a lot of money, but we have always had a lot of love. Love in our home is never frugal, and I pray every evening and wake every morning grateful and loving my husband and my family- even on the hard days.

He’s pretty special and I’m pretty lucky. ox

One thought on “Celebrating 5 years of Marriage in 5 days… for (less than) $5

Leave a Reply

