12 Memories of my Dad

For the moment I’ll blame my child as my reason for being up ridiculously early on day 2 of my vacation. She spent the whole night kicking me in the head #momproblems. Of course the fact that I’ve been tossing and turning all night thinking about my Dad would have nothing to do with this…at all, right?

It is an understatement to say that finding my spirit this year has been difficult. Cue, Faith Hill’s Where Are You Christmas? but let’s be real, I know exactly where it is for me, in heaven with my Dad. I’m desperately searching for the feeling of magic and I’m damned and determined to make it happen in the next 24 hours not for me but for my girls. So I’m going to post a tribute 12 Memories of Dad and then drink a cup of (coffee) cheer and have the “hap-hap-happiest Christmas since Bing Crosby tap-danced with Danny f@#king Kaye.”

12. His favorite Christmas present was a popcorn tin with the three flavors of popcorn.
11. He always smelt of diesel fuel and old spice
10. “I’m just a redneck but I could shoot the shit with the president. What? He ain’t no different. He puts his pants on one leg at a time just like me.”
9. When we lived in Tx. He let my sisters and I get up, get ready for school, walk to the bus stop and wait. We thought we missed the bus so we walked back after 30 minutes and he told us “oh, sorry you have a snow day” Thanks, Dad.
8. “The ball doesn’t have a brain.”
7. He once “spanked” the wall instead of me and told me not to tell my mom. I went out and sarcastically told my mom what happened in a “nah-nah-na-nah” way …then I got spanked.
6. He called make-up war paint
5. Being a kid at heart he loved to jump on beds and furniture. Even as a grown man, he could do a front flip in a hotel room from one double-bed to the other. No joke!
4. In Middle School he would wake us up with a wooden spoon and pot. As a parent, I now fully understand this was payback to us for when we were babies/toddlers. Well-played, Dad. Well-played.
3. He loved water fights and food fights and often started them at the dinner table.
2. “The sun came up.”-His number one mantra
1. My favorite memory is when he would wake me up, sometimes around 4 or 5 in the morning, while everyone was asleep, and we would go get breakfast. I’d roll out of bed and into the car. We’d eat at some dive and then I’d come home and crawl back into bed #priceless

Merry Christmas, Dad. ox

One thought on “12 Memories of my Dad

Leave a Reply

