Quick Share

I’ve been meaning to write for a while but work is crazy, in all the best ways, right now and between that and home I tend to choose sleep in any “extra” minute I get. BUT, there are a couple quick stories I wanted to share.

The first is short and sweet and a bit of a brag on my better half because I really am the luckiest girl in the world 🙂

I think it’s safe to say we will more than likely implement a budget freeze in the month of March for the rest of our lives, it seems to work really well. However, there are moments where temptation can be just that; and when I am running on very little sleep and feeling uber stressed from work sometimes all I want is coffee and chocolate. I called Brent in my moment of weakness and vented, okay let’s be real I was whining and secretly hoping the old Brent (who was so good at giving into me out of love) would cave. Instead, he just listened and was supportive and somehow avoided the insinuation. About 30 minutes later I get a text from him that says come out front, and there he is with piping hot cappuccino made by my favorite barista, him. It was exactly what I needed without the guilt of giving in. Love him.

The second is a sweet moment I simply wanted to share about my little girls in the world of them truly helping my healing one day at a time.

I was driving back to my office for the third time, after a pretty crappy day and had the wee ones with me. As we were driving through rush hour traffic the girls took notice of this overwhelmingly big, beautiful and multi-colored sunset. Charlotte said, “sun sun! Mommy, Sun!” And it was an instant reminder of that beautiful sunrise the morning of his passing and I said, “Noooo that’s not just the sun, that’s Grandpa. Wave Hi! to Grandpa.” And they began to shout “HI GRANDPA MARK! LOVE YOU! MISS YOU!” and we all waved and shouted and smiled. It was a moment that made me melt and for the first time I didn’t start crying my eyes out. Then in the impeccable timing that things tend to work I heard a story eerily relative to recent events and then my all-time favorite song by MercyMe, I Can Only Imagine. It was truly a marvelous moment that I needed so badly on that day and I will certainly never forget.

ox

Leave a Reply

