Take the Journey

Self-reflection can be terrifying, but every once in a while something sparks a flame. For those who don’t know I’ve started taking classes again. It’s my way of easing into a PhD program. My first class is a Family Leadership & Dev. course. It has been very intriguing right from the start. The type of class that makes you understand lifelong educators. Case and point, this week our discussion was on a YouTube video of Sir Ken Robinson discussing the evolution of education (p.s. video recommended) Not only was the video brilliant in both content it was thought-provoking and affirming. It reminded me why I do what I do and why my love lives in education and leadership. So much so that I felt compelled to share my HW post about personal obstacles. The prompt was the following: Obstacles and struggles are an integral part of life. Reflect on Ken Robinson’s video. What obstacles have you encountered in your quest to be a leader in your profession (in school, in your family, etc)? How have you overcome them (or have you?)? 

Here is my post/reflection, your Sunday evening food for thought, and a little more insight to being and becoming more than a Frugal Fowler Mommy.
10606597_10152429187398581_795030956930757489_nTo identify one struggle or obstacle seems to be just that. Not because i haven’t had any, quite the contrary. I’ve had many, but I often chose the path of onward and upward. So much so that I often avoid self-reflection. Growth is the result of experience. If I can strengthen my skills without examination, why do I need to understand? Perhaps this is why I was so inspired by Sir Robinson’s final point, “The pain of containing our failure to understand ourselves is greater than the pain it would take to go on the journey.”

My obstacle is my failure to embark on a journey with myself, to leave my personal comfort zone. I’m scared of what creatures could live along this path. It’s not to say I’ve never wandered there a time or two. As a grad student aka: counselor in training, I sat on both sides. I learned quickly that one is far more uncomfortable than the other. I feel as though I have done enough to understand what makes me tick, where my weaknesses lie and what I need to do to move forward but I know I haven’t yet done enough. It’s a journey and challenge I haven’t completely committed to. I’m working toward it and while I often face professional challenges that help me to learn and grow, I would be doing an injustice to myself if I didn’t credit my personal life for the true push to take on this adventure. As a mother of two young girls I want to inspire them to be strong, confident women who know and believe in themselves. I cannot do this if I do not lead by example. It is a daily challenge (and adventure) that helps me further develop in all aspects of my life. This holistic approach is similar to the one discussed in the video, only on an individualized level. Furthermore, understanding that we are organisms and not mechanisms is a key reminder to forgiving oneself and taking a gentle approach to self-care and growth. Something all professionals, leaders, parents, and I should do.

I have a long way to go but feel as though I have started down the pay, slowly.

ox

Leave a Reply

