A Day Worth Noting

I’m not a collected mom/wife/woman. In fact, I’m the exact opposite. Case and point, two weeks ago I left not one, but two grocery carts about half-full of goods abandoned in the store…on the same damn day. I tend to lose it sometimes. I’ve been known to put myself in a timeout instead of the kiddos and I try, really really really hard to keep it all together and fail miserably most of the time. I’m the kind of mom who rushes out the door in a craze five days a week trying not to forget a lunchbox, coats, a shoe, a child or heaven forbid my coffee. My hair is usually thrown up in a bun or wet and drab, I do my make-up in the car (while Brent is driving) and to be completely honest, the days that lapse between showers…let’s just say I should be ashamed. I could continue on, but you get the drift.

All of this is why today was a day for the history books. It started when the girls were gleefully up at 4:15am. I contemplated fighting the battle for just a few more extra mins of sleep but they were in such a good mood I decided to go with it, hoping they wouldn’t wake Ashley. By 6:30am two breakfasts had been served (for each child), kids dressed, hair curled specifically to each child’s request, teeth brushed and backpacks ready- and that was just them. I had the opportunity to get a mini workout in, shower, dry my hair, use hot rollers, apply make-up, and make and consume an entire cup of coffee and a piece of toast! Drop-offs went without a single meltdown, traffic reported accidents everywhere and somehow I made it to work 10 mins early, fast forward to the end of the workday and pick-up, snacks, soccer practice, dinner made (not bought!) and bedtime routine all done by 7:55pm. I got to wash my make up off, put on sweats, pour a glass of wine and enjoy some chocolate before 8p.

Let me just say I don’t know who’s life this is but for today I’ve enjoyed it. I would love to think that tomorrow could be a repeat of today but let’s be real, and I’m okay with the reality. I’ll hold on knowing that days like today really do exist. For many people this doesn’t seem like much, I get it and you can think it’s pointless, it’s cool; but for me- a working mom of two, with high standards for home, family and self, especially with the hubby completely disconnected from the world somewhere in the deep woods of Colorado, this is certainly a day worth noting because it is highly unlikely to ever happen again.

ox

Leave a Reply

