“Pick Something” A mom’s song.

You’ve probably heard the well-known, heart breaking song, Say Something. The one where A Great Big World meets Christina Aguilera as she belts out her need to hear just something from the love of her life before walking away. Well, this morning as I was trying to get out the door my toddler was standing on the counter, in the cabinet, indecisive about breakfast; a runaround I was not up for. She had about 30 seconds as I was putting the lid on my coffee and rather than get frustrated, I began to sing quietly to myself. And I couldn’t help but be amused with the following little diddy.

Pick something, I’m giving up on you
I’ll give you bread if you want me to
Almost Anything I would’ve fed to you
Pick something, I’m going to leave without you

And I…I’m feeling so small
She was over my head
Standing daringly tall
And I… had no coffee at all
I was still waking up
With no will to brawl

Pick something, I’m giving up on you
I’ll give you bread if you want me to
Go-gurt, granola or cottage cheese
Pick something now, or we’re going to leave

And I…will not swallow my pride
You’re one that I love
but I’m not going to cave

Ohhaa….
Pick something, I’m giving up on you
Ohhaayyy
You’ll be hungry in ten if you do not choose
Heeeyaahh
Almost Anything, I would’ve fed to you
Ohhoooaaayyy
Except for the pudding that I would not give to you.
Ooooo
Pick something, I’m going to leave without you.
Pick something…please

Leave a Reply

